Luka Modric beat Messi & Ronaldo to win the prestigious ‘Golden Foot’ award

34 years old Croatian Luka Modric won the 2019 Golden Foot award, a prestigious individual award that Cristiano Ronaldo and Liomel Messi have yet ro win.

The Golden Foot award is handed out to the best performing players over the age of 29 and it’s in its 17th year.

The former Ballon d’Or winner has been recognized as one of the best midfielders in the world and has been selected into FIFA FIFPro World XI this year.

Luka Modric win the Golden Foot award

The Croatian midfielder has had an underwhelming past 12 months, but he’ll add one of the sport’s most coveted awards to his trophy cabinet at a ceremony in Monaco on Thursday.

About Golden Foot award

The prize list for this award is impressive and includes current players as well as football legends, such as Baggio (first winner in 2003), Maradona and Pelè, full of stars.

For 2019 the selection of players will be from 10 nominees, initially selected by a jury of the world’s leading media journalists. There are, of course, legends too who are eligible. But the eventual winner of the Golden Foot, whether currently playing or legend is elected solely on the basis of the votes of the public made by internet on the official website of the event

The 10 nomineees

Past winners

2003  Roberto Baggio  (Italy, Brescia)

2004  Pavel Nedvěd  (Czech Republic, Juventus)

2005  Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine, Milan)

2006  Ronaldo  (Brazil, Real Madrid)

2007  Alessandro Del Piero  (Italy, Juventus)

2008  Roberto Carlos  (Brazil, Fenerbahçe)

2009  Ronaldinho  (Brazil, Milan)

2010  Francesco Totti  (Italy, Roma)

2011  Ryan Giggs  (Wales, Manchester United)

2012  Zlatan Ibrahimović  (Sweden, PSG)

2013  Didier Drogba  (Ivory Coast, Galatasaray)

2014  Andrés Iniesta  (Spain, Barcelona)

2015  Samuel Eto’o  (Cameroon, Antalyaspor)

2016  Gianluigi Buffon  (Italy, Juventus)

2017  Iker Casillas  (Spain, Porto)

2018  Edinson Cavani (Uruguay, PSG)

Powered by Live Score & Live Score App